Upward Bound: Research Resources

Use these research databases, from the library to find quality information for this, and other assignments.  Remember: you can access these databases from any computer on or off-campus.  If you are off-campus you will be asked to sign in.  (Do not share your passwords, this is for Stark State Students only.)          

To find scholarly journal articles or popular magazine articles use these databases.

Use these links to connect to the research databases if you are using a computer located on the Stark State Main Campus.

To find scholarly journal articles or popular magazine articles use these databases.

Use these links to connect to the research databases if you are using a home computer or any other computer located OFF the Stark State Main Campus.

For some assignments, your instructor may require you to locate information in scholarly research journals, (which can also be called Peer Reviewed or Refereed Journals.  Some may even say they want you to find good "credible" or "quality" articles.) but how can you easily tell the difference between a scholarly journal and a popular magazine? 

This sort of basic evaluation is a necessary part of the research process, and a means for you to sharpen your critical thinking skills. 

Some of the ways that a scholarly research journal typically differs from a popular magazine are:

AUTHORITY
Scholarly journal articles will indicate authors and their academic credentials; popular magazines may not always list the author.

CITATION
Scholarly journal articles will include footnotes, endnotes, bibliographies, or reference lists; popular magazine articles very rarely do this.

CONTENT
Scholarly journal articles focus on research; popular magazines focus on current events & topics of general interest, and include lots of ads for consumer products.

PEER REVIEW
Scholarly journal articles are reviewed and fully critiqued by subject experts for research accuracy & importance before being published; popular magazines are not as rigorous.

POINT OF SALE
Where you find publications for sale is a clue.  It may be difficult to locate scholarly journals at all outside of research libraries; popular magazines are usually much easier to find.

PUBLICATION
FREQUENCY
Scholarly journals are usually published two or  four times a year; popular magazines may be published daily, weekly, or monthly.

           #1                               #2

Popular Magazine, the purpose is: To entertain, market, or promote a viewpoint

• Articles are written by staff or journalists
• Articles are not peer reviewed
• Reading level is basic
• Articles are shorter on average
• There are advertisements and glossy color photos.
• Lacks references or works cited lists

Research Journal, the purpose is: To contribute to the evolving body of knowledge within an academic discipline

• Articles are written by experts that have credentials
• Articles are peer reviewed
• Reading level is advanced
• Longer more structured articles
• Has a list of references, citations or bibliography at the end of each article

Using the tips above, which one is an example of a popular magazine, #1 or #2?

Cast your vote.