Skip to main content

Film and Television: Film and Television

Research Databases Access from ON-Campus

To find scholarly journal articles or popular magazine articles use these databases.

Use these links to connect to the research databases if you are using a computer located on the Stark State Main Campus.

Research Databases Access from OFF-Campus

To find scholarly journal articles or popular magazine articles use these databases.

Use these links to connect to the research databases if you are using a home computer or any other computer located OFF the Stark State Main Campus.

Scholarly or Not?

For some assignments, your instructor may require you to locate information in scholarly research journals, but how can you easily know the differences between a scholarly journal and a popular magazine? This sort of basic evaluation is a necessary part of the research process, and a means for you to sharpen your critical thinking skills.

Some of the ways that a research journal typically differs from a popular magazine are:

AUTHORITY
Scholarly journal articles will indicate authors and their academic credentials; popular magazines may not always list the author.

CITATION
Scholarly journal articles will include footnotes, end notes, bibliographies, or reference lists; popular magazine articles very rarely do this.

CONTENT
Scholarly journal articles focus on research; whereas, popular magazines focus on current events and topics of general interest, and include lots of ads for consumer products.

PEER REVIEW
Scholarly journal articles are reviewed and fully critiqued by subject experts for research accuracy and importance before being published; popular magazines are not as rigorous.

POINT OF SALE
Where you find publications for sale is a clue. It may be difficult to locate scholarly journals outside of research libraries; popular magazines are usually much easier to find.

PUBLICATION FREQUENCY
Scholarly journals are usually published two or four times a year; popular magazines may be published daily, weekly, or monthly.

Getting Started

Use this resource guide as a starting point for locating and using good, quality information on film and television related topics.  You will find a list of librarian reviewed websites, links to research databases and additional information relating to this subject.

If you have any questions please contact a librarian!  Your Stark State Librarians are available via IM, phone or email. 

   Image from Microsoft Office  

Web Resources

Websites that have been selected and reviewed by librarians.

Electronic Book Center

The Electronic Book Center (EBC) is your access point for a wealth of digital titles about Film and Television like: Video Houd's Golden Movie Retriever and the History of Media and Film.

Search the EBC generally (ex: Film History) or with movie titles, artist names, and genres (ex: Wizard of Oz and Film; or, John Wayne; or Science Fiction and Television).

Click the link below to access the

ELECTRONIC BOOK CENTER

Subject Guide

How to Evaluate Websites

Click on the link below.  Use the checklist to make sure the website you are looking at is quality information.