Sustainability Resource Library: Education for Sustainability

Status: Checked In

Throughout the United States, a movement of educators, parents, and students is remaking K-12 education to prepare students for the future environmental challenges. What would a green school or an eco-schooling curriculum look like? Smart by Nature: Schooling for Sustainability offers firsthand accounts and strategies for greening campuses, rethinking school food, and transforming schools into model sustainable communities. Green and healthy campuses with rooftop gardens and innovative designs are serving as living laboratories in which educators teach energy conservation, resource management, and earth sciences. Smart by Nature documents this movement through inspiring success stories from public and independent schools across the country. Practical "what you can do" checklists and pages of resources make this a twenty-first-century guide for our educational future.

Status: Checked In

Schoolyard-Enhanced Learning shows how the school grounds—regardless of whether your school is in an urban, suburban, or rural setting—can become an enriching extension of the classroom. In this comprehensive handbook, Herb Broda blends theory and practice, providing readers with practical suggestions and teacher-tested activities for using the most powerful audio-visual tool available—the outdoors.

Status: Checked In

Status: Checked In

With a global food crisis, rising environmental concerns, and America’s children facing epidemic levels of diet-related diseases, how can educators positively engage students in understanding the connections among these topics? Michael Pollan, provides a conceptual framework for integrated learning in these important areas in K–12 classrooms.

Status: Checked In

This book covers current major environmental and sustainability issues, and shows where to go to get more information on these and more. It shows what impact your choices make on the world, and how you can go about making that change, both individually and collectively.
It presents some of the best solutions to today's major issues, and finishes by providing an incredibly comprehensive resource directory, providing information on where you can best find out more about environmental, energy, economic and community issues.
15+copies available

Status: Checked In

We are the first generation capable of determining the habitability of the planet for humans and other species, writes Anthony Cortese in the Foreword. Teachers at every level can play an important role in helping us find a sustainable path. One educator is fond of saying that, The stone age didn t end because of a lack of rocks While there was certainly an abundance of rocks available, stone age peple moved on to a new era because it became possible for them to envision and create a different and more useful way of organizing life. Many believe that we are currently at a similar juncture and can begin to imagine and construct new ways to live on our planet. All who work with sustainability issues realize that it is a community project. We must decide collectively about the earth and its future. As a community be it a geographic, social, academic, or professional community we need to know where to begin, how to collaboratively work, and where to find resources. Most of us belong to communities that are concerned about sustainability issues, but do not have that as their primary mandate, such as a business, a history class, or a civic group. These groups have a tremendous opportunity to incorporate sustainability awareness into their activities. And this volume will help find those opportunities and make the best use of group resources.
15+copies available

Status: Coming Soon!

This unique learning resource combines an integrated, detailed academic curriculum with service-based learning activities to educate, inspire, and empower citizen learners to build greener and healthier communities.

Tested in high schools, university extension classes, community colleges, and community organizations, this teacher-friendly curriculum is rated highly as a successful program for knowledge acquisition across disciplines. It meets NSTA and NCSS national standards for grades 9-12, and includes a wide variety of cross-curricular activities with focus on literature, math, and art.

Status: Coming Soon!

Based on the PBS Series Edens Lost & Found, this unique learning resource combines an integrated, detailed academic curriculum with service-based learning activities to educate, inspire, and empower citizen learners to build greener and healthier communities.

Tested in high schools, university ex
tension classes, community colleges, and community organizations, this teacher-friendly curriculum is rated highly as a successful program for knowledge acquisition across disciplines. It meets NSTA and NCSS national standards for grades 9-12, and includes a wide variety of cross-curricular activities with focus on literature, math, and art.

Individual productions by filmmakers Harry Wiland and Dale Bell have received an Academy Award, five Emmys, one Peabody, two Christophers, and two Cine Golden Eagles, among other awards. Their collaborative award-winning project on caregiving, "And Thou Shalt Honor," was broadcast by PBS in 2002 to wide acclaim. They are both Ashoka Lifetime Fellows and Purpose Prize Fellows.

Status: Checked In

Our consumption patterns are threatening to outstrip Earth's ability to support humanity and other species. A sustainable future will require sweeping changes in public behavior. While conventional marketing can help create public awareness, social marketing identifies and overcomes barriers to long-lasting behavior change. This ground-breaking book is the primary resource for the emerging new field of community-based social marketing, and an invaluable guide for anyone involved in designing public education programs with the goal of promoting sustainable behavior, from recycling and energy efficiency, to alternative transportation.

Dr. McKenzie-Mohr is a professor of social psychology and community-based marketing at St. Thomas University in New Brunswick. Dr. William Smith is the Executive Vice President at the Academy for Educational Development in Washington, D.C.

Status: Checked In

Responding to the threats of climate change, peak oil, resource depletion, economic uncertainty and energy insecurity demands the utmost in creativity, ingenuity, and new ways of thinking in order to reinvent self and society. In The Handbook of Sustainability Literacy, leading sustainability educators are joined by permaculturists, literary critics, ecologists, artists, journalists, engineers, mathematicians, and philosophers in examining the skills needed in the twenty-first century. Among the many skills, attributes, and values described in this volume are values reflection, coping with complexity, permaculture design, transition skills, advertising awareness, effortless action, and ecological intelligence, each accompanied by ideas for active-learning exercises to help develop the skill. Far from being a rigid or definitive statement of the "one right way," however, the handbook is exploratory, aiming to open up new, unthought-of paths, possibilities, and choices.

It is intended primarily for educators across the spectrum from higher education to informal education, but is also suitable for learners themselves and anyone interested in the literally "vital" issue of the skills we need to survive and thrive in the twenty-first century and build a more sustainable future. Contributors include John Naish, Satish Kumar, Patrick Whitefield, John Blewitt, Stephan Harding, and Stephen Sterling.

Status: Coming Soon!

It's All Connected" is the ultimate resource for teaching about global issues and sustainability in our ever changing and complex world. It can be used as a stand- alone text for a global issues course or as a supplemental text for other classes, including social studies, science, environmental studies, and ESL. "It's All Connected" provides a thorough overview of global issues, as well as in-depth explorations of particular topics, debates, and solutions.

Status: Coming Soon!

Real World Math promotes student engagement by providing real-world data on global issues with a focus on practical solutions. The student workbook and corresponding teacher’s guide concentrate on foundational algebra and geometry concepts. All lessons are aligned with National Council of Teachers of Mathematics Standards and Expectations. Topics range from climate change to financial literacy and build both mathematical knowledge and global perspective. Complementary datasets are also available to download for free

Status: Checked In

Sustainable Systems at Work is a five-session discussion course book for the workplace, designed to further organizational sustainability initiatives. The course addresses the greatest challenge any organization has when implementing corporate initiatives: engaging employees. Sustainable Systems at Work inspires innovation and creates alignment between employee actions and organizational objectives.

Discussion Course Goals:

• To evaluate the current economic model and consider the case for change

• To examine the concept of sustainability from an organizational perspective

• To evaluate principles and frameworks for guiding a vision

• To identify tools and strategies for implementing a framework

• To develop an action plan to advance organizational change

Status: Checked In

Menu for the Future is a six-session discussion course book exploring the connection between food and sustainability.

Discussion Course Goals:

• To explore food systems and their impacts on culture, society and ecological systems.

• To gain insight into agricultural and individual practices that promote personal and ecological well-being.

• To consider your role in creating or supporting sustainable food systems.

Status: Checked In

Choices for Sustainable Living is a seven-session discussion course book for the workplace, community or faith center, university or home exploring the meaning of sustainable living and the ties between lifestyle choices and their impact on the earth.

Discussion Course Goals:

• To explore the meaning of sustainability.

• To consider the ties between lifestyle choices and their impact on the earth.

• To learn about steps that can be taken to move toward ecologically sustainable organizations, lifestyles, and communities.

Status: Checked In

A World of Health is a six-session discussion course book that explores "good health," the connections between human health and the environment, and how we can sustain both. Each session includes readings, video clips, short assignments and accompanying group discussion questions.

Overview:
The course discusses limitations of the current medical model and its approach to health, then addresses the places where our personal health intersects with the environment — from our food and homes, to our communities and society. Throughout the course you will find individual actions that promote good health and in turn, promote a healthier environment.

Status: Checked In

Global Warming: Changing CO2urse is a four-session discussion course book exploring the history and science of global warming, personal values and habits as they relate to climate change, and personal actions to curb the effects of global warming. This course can easily be offered in your workplace, faith center or home.

Discussion Course Goals:

• To explore personal values and habits as they relate to climate change.

• To understand the history and science of global warming.

• To empower individuals to take action to curb global warming.