Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Science Resources: CHM 142 Research Tips

This guide will help you locate science resources such as websites, articles and books.

Finding Articles in the EJC

The EJC or Electronic Journal Center is a database that contains only scholarly information.  This database covers a wide range of subject areas.  The tips below will help you narrow your search to the Chemistry areas.

-Click on the link below to access the EJC (pay attention if you are on or off-campus). 

-Once you have accessed the EJC, select the catagory Chemistry and Chemical Engineering.

-At the top of screen click on Search.

-Below the search box click on Show Limit Options.

-Select the catagory, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering.

-Type your keyword or element in the search box and hit Submit Search.

 

Now you will have a list of scientific articles, each of which will have something to do with the keyword you searched for.  You will have to browse the results to find the "best" article for your assignment. 

Find an Article from a Citation

To locate an article that is listed as a citation in the reference section use the link below. 

-Click on the link to E Journal Finder.

-Fill in the title of the journal and search.

-Match the date of the article you are looking for to what the library has available.

-Be sure you are looking at online access only.  If it says in print you are looking at the wrong option.

-Click on the link that fits your article.

-Now match up the year, volume, issue and page number of your article.

-Once you have found your article click the option to view Full Text.

 

Remember, the library may NOT have access to every article, especially older or very current articles.  You may need to try your search again using after selecting a different article.

Compare Articles

Runner's World (Popular Magazine)

Purpose: To entertain, market, or promote a viewpoint

  • Articles are written by staff or journalists
  • Articles are not peer reviewed
  • Reading level is basic
  • Articles are shorter on average
  • There are advertisements and glossy color photos.
  • Lacks references or works cited lists


Journal of the American Dietetic Association
(Scholarly Journal)


Purpose: To contribute to the evolving body of knowledge within an academic discipline

  • Articles are written by experts that have credentials
  • Articles are peer reviewed
  • Reading level is advanced
  • Longer more structured articles
  • Has a list of references, citations or bibliography at the end of each article

  Evaluate These Articles

Click on the links below for Articles 1 and 2. Using the tips above, evaluate each article. Which article is from a popular magazine?

Cast your vote.

  Evaluate These Articles
Article 1 (click on the pdf Full Text link): 2 votes (100%)
Article 2: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 2

OFF-Campus Access

If you are Off-Campus (any place other than Stark State College Main Campus) please log-in.

Use this link to complete the OhioLink Authentication before accessing any of the library resources listed here.

      Scholarly or Not?

For some assignments, your instructor may require you to locate information in scholarly research journals, but how can you easily tell the differences between a scholarly journal and a popular magazine? This sort of basic evaluation is a necessary part of the research process, and a means for you to sharpen your critical thinking skills.

Some of the ways that a research journal typically differs from a popular magazine are:

AUTHORITY
Scholarly journal articles will indicate authors and their academic credentials; popular magazines may not always list the author.

CITATION
Scholarly journal articles will include footnotes, end notes, bibliographies, or reference lists; popular magazine articles very rarely do this.

CONTENT
Scholarly journal articles focus on research; whereas, popular magazines focus on current events and topics of general interest, and include lots of ads for consumer products.

PEER REVIEW
Scholarly journal articles are reviewed and fully critiqued by subject experts for research accuracy and importance before being published; popular magazines are not as rigorous.

POINT OF SALE
Where you find publications for sale is a clue. It may be difficult to locate scholarly journals outside of research libraries; popular magazines are usually much easier to find.

PUBLICATION FREQUENCY
Scholarly journals are usually published two or four times a year; popular magazines may be published daily, weekly, or monthly.