LibGuides: Health Resources: Health

Research Databases Access

To find scholarly journal articles or popular magazine articles use these databases.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
MEDLINE

Getting Started

Use this resource guide as a starting point for locating and using good, quality information for health related subjects. You will find a list of librarian reviewed websites, links to research databases and additional information relating to this subject.

If you have any questions please contact a librarian! Your Stark State Librarians are available via IM, phone or email.

Websites

American Massage Therapy Association
The mission of the American Massage Therapy Association is to serve AMTA members while advancing the art, science and practice of massage therapy.

This is a list of websites that have been selected and reviewed by librarians.

American Health and Information Management Association
AHIMA provides medical records professionals with educational resources and programs. The Association also administers the gold-standard of certification exams, the CCS and CCS-P.
American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science
TASCLS serves as the voice of all clinical laboratory professionals.
The Association for Healthcare Documentation Integrity
The Association for Healthcare Documentation Integrity focuses on directing the evolution of medical transcription and to advance and represent the profession and its practitioners.
CDC
Center for Disease Control and Prevention.
The Cleveland Clinic Alumni Library
Many lists to online resources. Some need an account.
Delaware Academy of Medicine
List of free online medical journals.
Web MD
Frequently revised and updated 'list of lists' linking to health resources on the Web.
Health finder
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services library site. Links to journals and online health libraries.
Hospital Connect™
HospitalConnect™ links together the Internet sites for dozens of organizations serving health care providers.
National Association of Licensed Practical Nurses
The professional organization for licensed practical nurses and licensed vocational nurses and practical/vocational nursing students in the United States.
National Pharmacy Technician Association
The world's largest professional organization established specifically for pharmacy technicians.
Occupational Outlook Handbook