What is a scholarly article?Developing a topicHow to evaluate websites
This is the "Environmental Science" page of the "Environmental Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Environmental Science   Tags: environmental science  

This guide will help you locate resources for environmental science such as websites, articles and books.
Last Updated: Oct 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.starkstate.edu/environmentalscience Print Guide RSS Updates

Environmental Science Print Page
  Search: 
 

Research Databases Access from ON-Campus

To find scholarly journal articles or popular magazine articles use these databases.

Use these links to connect to the research databases if you are using a computer located on the Stark State Main Campus.

Research Databases Access from OFF-Campus

To find scholarly journal articles or popular magazine articles use these databases.

Use these links to connect to the research databases if you are using a home computer or any other computer located OFF the Stark State Main Campus.

 

Scholarly or Not?

For some assignments, your instructor may require you to locate information in scholarly research journals, but how can you easily know the differences between a scholarly journal and a popular magazine? This sort of basic evaluation is a necessary part of the research process, and a means for you to sharpen your critical thinking skills.

Some of the ways that a research journal typically differs from a popular magazine are:

AUTHORITY
Scholarly journal articles will indicate authors and their academic credentials; popular magazines may not always list the author.

CITATION
Scholarly journal articles will include footnotes, end notes, bibliographies, or reference lists; popular magazine articles very rarely do this.

CONTENT
Scholarly journal articles focus on research; whereas, popular magazines focus on current events and topics of general interest, and include lots of ads for consumer products.

PEER REVIEW
Scholarly journal articles are reviewed and fully critiqued by subject experts for research accuracy and importance before being published; popular magazines are not as rigorous.

POINT OF SALE
Where you find publications for sale is a clue. It may be difficult to locate scholarly journals outside of research libraries; popular magazines are usually much easier to find.

PUBLICATION FREQUENCY
Scholarly journals are usually published two or four times a year; popular magazines may be published daily, weekly, or monthly.

 

Getting Started

Use this resource guide as a starting point for locating and using good, quality information on subjects related to environmental science.  You will find a list of librarian reviewed websites, links to research databases and additional information relating to this subject.

If you have any questions please contact a librarian!  Your Stark State Librarians are available via IM, phone or email. 

 

 

 

 

    Image Provided by Microsoft

How to Evaluate Websites

Click on the link below.  Use the checklist to make sure the website you are looking at is quality information.

Websites

This is a list of websites that have been selected and reviewed by librarians.

 

Books

Search for books from OhioLINK libraries!

 OhioLINK Catalog: 

To Request Books:      

·         You can search for books by Keyword, Author, or Title

·         Once you find the item you want and determine its availability click on the link to REQUEST THIS ITEM

·         Select Kent State U as your institution and fill in your information under the Guest Login.  Don’t forget to select Stark as your pick-up location.

·         (Remember: Please allow 3-4 business days for the item to arrive.  You must pick up and return your items at the KSU Stark Library using your SSCT Student ID.)

·         OhioLINK books checkout for 3 weeks and may be renewed up to 4 times.

·         OhioLINK overdue fines are $.50/day and $50 if they are more than 30 days overdue.

 

View Your Library Record:

 ·         From the library page in Mystarkstate, under Research Tools and Resources click on KentLINK.

·         In the blue bar across the top click on the link to My Library Account or use this direct link, My Library Account

·         Use the login box on the right.  Fill in your name and Social Security Number.

·         From here you can see the books you have requested and/or checked out.  You can also renew your items here or call the KSU Stark Library at 330-244-3330.

 

Welcome to the SSC Digital Library

Profile Image
Stark State College Digital Library
Contact Info
Marcia Addison, Library Director
Sara Klink, Assistant Library Director
Located in B123
or call 330-494-6170 ext. 4141
Send Email
 

The Daily Green

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip